Old to new

Life has been pretty busy since I bought a house in early December. The holidays came flying by, followed by a very busy work month of January. Now that I’m finally getting back to a normal busy life instead of work-all-the-time busy, I can actually get elbow deep in settling into my new home. I’m about half unpacked but as I started to unpack my meager belongings, in a space that is at least 3 times the size of my 1 bedroom apartment, I found that I needed more storage, shelving, cabinet type pieces. Not wanting to buy brand new or IKEA, I’ve been casually looking online at Craigslist and other vintage/antique wood furniture local finds. The snowy days we’ve had in Philadelphia has created the love of all of my vintage wool blankets, that I received in the splitting of the stuff before Kasy moved onto his boat. The downside of so many lovely wool blankets is…where do you put them in a house built in the 1920s (read: no closets except small weirdly shaped bedroom ones). My new focus – wooden trunks.

blanket trunk 1

Of course, since getting back into blogging is still new for me, I forgot to take a before picture of the trunk. It was beautiful but dusty, dirty, and in desperate need of some oil. After a quick google session, and remembering that I have a full bottle of Ecover Wood Floor Soap, I set out to clean up this little number with my morning coffee. Using the bits of information I gleaned from the internet, I found that by using clean towels and rubbing (with the grain) the wood soap into the wood that it would take up the dirt while oiling the trunk. I used more soap than needbe, wanting to let the linseed oil really penetrate the wood to protect and nourish it long term. I’m going to let it sit overnight, and then wipe any excess oil off before placing any of my prized woolens into it.

wood trunk 2

And here it is! Looking gorgeous and filling out the wee little landing perfectly. I’m sure the cats will appreciate a new sitting location, as well, since it will allow them to view all the activity on both floors while staying out of the way.

For anyone in Philadelphia, I purchased this item from Attainable Vintage, along with another wooden trunk and a fantastic highboy style dresser. Both of those pieces still need some restoration love, but I am really excited to welcome all three of these into my house.

3 thoughts on “Old to new

Leave a Reply

