Peach-Nectarine Cobbler Long-Distance Running Muffins

A few weeks ago, I hit the wall energy wise and had to re-evaluate my food intake to incorporate more…more of everything really. I eat well, easily and as my comfort zone, but the idea of eating even more was daunting. I feel like I eat all the time as it is. Last time, I tried a batch of pumpkin-cranberry-protein muffins and those were great for grab and go kind of fuel and midday snacks, etc. This time, saddled with a summer cold that forced me to skip my Sunday long run and sleep for 8 hours during the day, I decided to make something a bit more summery to fuel my running for the coming week. While I’m fine using Gu and Clif etc, I prefer real food when possible for fuel. I had picked up 25lbs of peaches from a local farm recently, and still have many pounds to work through, as well as a handful of nectarines that were ready to be eaten. Enter, these muffins of heaven. I want to try these again with a flax egg instead of a chicken egg to see if this recipe holds up with a vegan sub. I’m also curious to see how this taste with plums instead of peaches and nectarines, and also how apples would work in this come autumn time. Chances are, if you show up at my house from now until forever with a bag of coffee beans I will brew us coffee and make you eat muffins with me on my front porch.

muffins

Yielded 18 muffins

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup of protein powder (I used a vanilla soy one)
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon (more if you like more)
  • 1 1/4 cups of vegetable oil
  • 2 1/4 cups of fresh peaches and nectarines (peeled and chopped)

Preheat oven to 350F

Beat eggs, oil, and sugar together. Add dry ingredients until uniformly mixed (most would probably suggest mixing dry ingredients together before adding, but let’s be real. I just added them all individually to the wet ingredients and mixed together then). Fold in fresh fruit.

Grease or line muffin tin and fill each most of the way, for a full big muffin top. For smaller muffins, fill 1/2-2/3 of the way full.

Bake for 25 minutes (or until toothpick is entered into a muffin and comes out clean). Let cool for a couple of minutes and then remove from muffin tin to cool the rest of the way on a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

