the tipping point

Prior to today, I’ve completed 4 half marathons. The longest distance in one go that I’ve ever run is 13.1 miles.

14.5run

Today I completed 14.5 miles. I’ve officially crossed the threshold that I’ve been thinking about for a long time. Once I cross the 13.1 distance, the full marathon is more real. It’s sort of like the moment I crossed the 50% completed mark, in grad school. At that moment, I knew that I couldn’t drop my program. How can you drop when you’ve gotten than far?

strava14.5

This morning, I woke to 66F with light breezes. I leisurely enjoyed my morning coffee before heading out the door. There was no need to race against the rising sun today – real early fall weather had arrived. The first 9 miles of this run were joyous and dance-like. I didn’t follow my exact path in West Fairmount Park, instead opting to noodle around a bit before taking the road down to West River Drive. Once I hit the Schuylkill River Trail, my pacing fell apart. I’m not sure if it was the distance at that point or the utter boring familiarity of the East Falls Bridge to the Art Museum. I’ve ridden my bike down that section more times than I can count, in my decade in this City. I’ve run that section so many times. This is the second half section of the Philly Marathon and I am not excited for it. Some people like running the same routes and find the familiarity a comfort. I am not those people – I prefer a bit of the unknown thrown in, otherwise it ends up acting like watching the timer on a treadmill (also a boring way to run, in my opinion). I managed to pull it together and run through to the end of the long run, and for that I am thankful and can honestly see major growth in my running life. I started running again 4 years ago in order to push through those mental barriers and emotional walls, and it used to feel harder than it does today. Today, on good days in beautiful weather, even 14.5 miles feels easy.

That’s kind of awesome.

10 weeks to go…

Leave a Reply

